The P Word

muddling my way through parenting; living life to the full

Getting back in the game

Under the cosh. Swimming against the tide. Run ragged. These and many other clichés are over-used in sports journalism (a career I once aspired towards), and as I’ve suggested before many of them also crop up in relation to parenting.

Feeling a bit deflated?

Feeling a bit deflated?

And that’s how I’ve been feeling recently. Perhaps that’s the reason for my all-too-lengthy blog silence. But the clouds are beginning to clear and (quite literally) the sun is starting to shine again.

This week a couple of things which I’ve shared on the blog’s Facebook page have helped me feel like I’m getting back in the game. This post reminded me that I’m not alone, and the motherhood rap made me giggle.

Getting back in the parenting game

Sometimes it all feels like a bit too much. I’ve been grumpy dad, tired dad and various other kinds of dad which I don’t like seeing in the mirror in recent weeks. Mealtimes seem to have become the battleground that I thought we’d seen the back of after (just) surviving the toddler years. But hope springs eternal, as the saying goes. Although I certainly don’t feel completely out of the woods, there are some chinks of light if I look hard enough. A bit of a holiday certainly helped.

Getting back in the blogging game

I think I’ve always been certain that I’d return to this blog at some stage, although the three-month gap might have suggested otherwise. Time has appeared in short supply. Motivation has been lacking. The thoughts about potential posts have been there, but all too often they’ve dispersed without being put into action. With Father’s Day looming, a flurry of traffic to my contribution from last year has also helped re-awaken my interest.

Getting back in the training game

‘Facilitator’ is perhaps the least elegant word in the English language. However, to help people on parenting courses it’s a label which I gladly wear from time to time. And over the past few weeks I’ve had the opportunity to be back involved in a Time Out course for a group of parents of under-5s (if you want, see if there’s one taking place near you). The mums and dads I’ve had the pleasure of sharing the past few Wednesday evenings with have both challenged and inspired me. I am hugely grateful to them, and I can’t wait to do more of the same later this year.

So … if you’re feeling like a bit of a spectator – or maybe sidelined by injury, or just exhausted and need to be substituted by somebody with a bit more energy – I hope that you find some way of getting back in the game before too long.

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “Getting back in the game

  1. I’d it better to post for the sake of posting, or to wait until you have something worth saying? After a brief n hiatus on my blog I wonder the same thing…

    • There’s probably some well-reasoned advice out there Sam, but personally I’d always try to avoid posting just for the sake of it. Some of the unachievable advice I’ve heard is to always post twice a week and be consistent with days/times you post. Apparently helps grow followers.

      • Seems to be the American way. Grow followers, grow influence. Depends why you blog, I suppose…

        Huff post article on fatherhood fantastic, by the way… Need more honesty like that and you’re parts about how tricky being a father actually is.

      • Thanks Sam. Yes blogging seems like more of a potential career choice for some of our trans-Atlantic friends, resulting in quite a different approach to posting.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 35 other followers

